It seems this week there has been a lot of Twilight talk so let’s get something straight.

1 Aug

I am now and always will be against abusive relationships, bad comedies (most comedies), western traditions, breeding (not to be confused with the act of), and pie . . . to name a few things. I am also extremely against horrid pop culture icons that confuse and dazzle the young masses for all the wrong reasons.
When it comes to living with so many opinions you learn to take a side, to make a stand even if it takes years to make a decision. Well my friends, I’ve come to a decision of my own.

My name is Ade and I am Team Jasper.

Phew! There, I said it.

It’s such a weight off my shoulders!

I can’t believe how easy it feels now that you know! I could run into the streets and just scream it to the world! I could buy a radio transmitter and send my glee-filled message to the stars! :D

But seriously,

I don’t believe in hating things because other people hate them. People who hate the Twilight saga, who have not ever been exposed to it are working with a mob mentality. Something we can so easily submit to. People who hate without reason are weak.

I know that sounds a little deep for anything concerning a book, but don’t forget how many people cry and scream and obsess over those books, and how many books have left a heavy impression on our society. Never, no matter how silly it seems, take a books impact lightly.

Twilight does in my opinion, only bomb in one way. The emotionally abusive bond between Ed and Bella leaves a frightening impression on our vulnerable youth. Bella rarely stands her ground and when it occurs it is drowned out by a quick paragraph concerning Ed’s over possessive need to keep her safe. It’s utterly terrifying to read/watch a young woman so completely entranced by her boyfriend that she willingly put’s herself in harm’s way.

This of course is not a new concept in our media. Lest we forget the over all concept of “love conquering all”. Oh yes, that dead horse beaten. . .

Alas I’ve ranted enough, back to what caused all of this. . . oh yes, Jasper. I swear to you if we had left out the teen hormones we would have had a much more loveable set of movies on our hands. Consider how well the Cullen’s, Jasper and Carlisle in particular would have fared as characters in “An Interview with a Vampire”. I honestly think there quite likely isn’t a sexier accent for a Classy Vamp’ than a Texan one. So ladies and gents, moms and their daughters you may keep your shirtless 17-year-old werewolves, and your expressionless under-acting pretty boy. I’ll take Jasper, Texan accent and all.

3 Responses to “It seems this week there has been a lot of Twilight talk so let’s get something straight.”

  1. cheneetot08 August 1, 2010 at 5:03 PM #

    Jasper of twilight saga is really cute. i didn’t actually like him on the first movie but when i saw him on the third he changed.

    • totalcuteness May 31, 2011 at 2:25 PM #

      yah i think he is totally cute so u grls need to bak off he is mine…haha jk!!!:)

  2. onbey August 2, 2010 at 1:18 AM #

    Ha ha yup same here Ms. Cheneetot08 :)

Leave a Reply

