Waterproof?

2 Apr

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Le_d%C3%A9luge_-_mus%C3%A9e_de_beaux_arts_de_Nantes_20091017.jpg

In The City of God, Augustine raises a curious question: How did Methuselah survive the flood? According to the Septuagint, the patriarch was 355 years old when Noah was born, and the deluge occurred 600 years later. Thus Methuselah was 955 at the flood–yet he lived to be 969. He was not aboard the ark, and the deluge destroyed the rest of humanity. How did Methuselah survive?

“This is a celebrated question,” wrote Jerome, “and one which has been publicly aired in argument by all the churches.” It’s largely obviated today: Most modern editions of Genesis are translated from the Masoretic text, which has Methuselah dying in the year of the flood.

4 Responses to “Waterproof?”

  1. Taylor Wilson April 3, 2010 at 2:18 AM #

    heh…I read ‘The City of God’ by Augustine…or rather was supposed to but never got around to it as my Lib Democracy class had moved on well past that point by the time I was able to access it on that damnable Moodle site. But I’ll have to give it a read on my down time…I’ve wanted to for a while, but all the other things we’ve moved onto have taken up my time.

    • onbey April 3, 2010 at 4:14 PM #

      I’m reading it as an online book. Join DailyLit.com if you’re looking for good books online :)

  2. Taylor Wilson April 5, 2010 at 2:22 PM #

    Sweeeeeet! I’ma hit that right up. But I def need to get that John Locke book to you soon!

    • onbey April 5, 2010 at 7:20 PM #

      Sounds delightful! Send it my way next chance you get! :)

Leave a Reply

